South Nashville Wins District 7 Title

12U Team Advance to States

 For seven straight years the winners of the tough District 7 has gone on to capture the Tennessee Little League State Championship. If that holds true again this year, things look good for members of the South Nashville South 12U team.

SNS has won three of those seven previous titles, but the other four, including the last two, have been won by Goodlettsville. When the two teams squared off this year - it was an instant classic.

The two teams battled to a 4-4 tie in the bottom of the sixth inning when SNS came to bat. Bryson King was able to draw a walk to put the winning run on base. After two outs and two wild pitches, King was able to reach third base.

Catcher Owen Brewer came to the plate and worked the count full, 3-2 with two outs. He drilled the next pitch for a base hit scoring King and giving South Nashville the win.

“What more could you ask for,” said SNS coach Randy Huth. “It’s all a kid could ask for - what a game,” he said.

“Owen has been a rock for us all tournament. People don’t understand how hard it is to catch somebody throwing it 77 mph from 46 feet - it’s like the pros throwing it 99 mph,” the coach said.

South Nashville ace Yuraj Chauhan was the one tossing it 77 mph to earn the win. Max Weyenberg led the offense going 3-3. 

Goodlettsville, who won the national championship before losing to Japan in the Little League World Series in 2012, will have to wait till next year.

“Beating them is kinda of special to our guys,” Huth said.

SNS would go on to shutout South Nashville North 9-0 to win the district.

Chauhan was dominant on the mound, tossing a one-hitter and the SNS bats were alive.

“We all came out swinging,” Huth said. Chauhan helped his own cause, going 3-4 with two RBI.

Hudson Barton had two hits and knocked in two runs, while Dominic Monaco also had two hits for SNS.

South Nashville, made up of all-star 12-year-olds from Franklin, Brentwood and Nolensville, will travel to Morristown to compete in the state tourney Saturday.

The winner will advance to the regionals August 3-8. The eight regional winners will square off at the Little League World Series Aug. 16-26 in Williamsport, PA for the national, then world title.